Scanxiety, episode 1

Last Friday was my first CT scan since I’ve started the trial (12 weeks check-up). Next Wednesday, we’re meeting my oncologist, and should know if, and how effective the treatment has been so far.

Screen Shot 2017-06-08 at 17.23.14
A CT scanner – looks like a donut, but not as fun (source: Wikipedia)

The wait – almost 2 weeks – between the scan and the feedback is awfully stressful. There’s nothing I can do, besides waiting and hoping for the best. It makes me nervous, and I feel like every symptom (headache, abdomen pain, etc.) could be an indication of the result – whereas it might just be related to the stress, or to anything else without any sever implication.

I guess it’s what some called scanxiety – here’s a good essay about it – and I suppose I’ll experience it at each scan (every 6-weeks for the first year in the trial). In the meantime still, I’m watching encouraging ASCO reports on treatments for kidney cancer, hoping that I’m responding to the treatment.

 

2 thoughts on “Scanxiety, episode 1

  1. Salut Alexandre ! Heureuse avec vous de la bonne nouvelle annoncée par Annie hier : le processus est enclenché. ..alors arme toi de patience et d énergie ! Tu es bien entouré, gamins adorables et petite femme encore plus !
    je vous embrasse tous les 4
    Michèle

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment