The bone scan, painless but oppressing

I feel a bit like a super-hero tonight, as I’ve been radioactive for the past few hours and going to be still until 12 tomorrow. Indeed, I’m just back from the penultimate step of my trial eligibility, a bone scan. As the CT scan, this is a painless procedure, but this one was a bit more oppressing that the CT.

screen-shot-2017-02-28-at-18-25-16

It started at 12:20 with a tracer injection, done with a syringe wrapped into a metal shield that the radiographer brought in a big toolbox made of metal too – looked like a serious business. After waiting 2.5 hours – enough time to continue reading “Laugh, Sing, and Eat Like a Pig” -, it was time for the scan itself.

I had to lay done, bus this time, the radiography plate (around 60x60cm) moved closer to me, up to 1 or 2cm only from my nose. This was a bit oppressing, as I couldn’t move, and it stayed here for the first 5 minutes of the scan. It then went though all my body, down to my toes for a total of 20 minutes.

And that was it, with results ready for my next appointment – and hopefully showing no signs of bone mets. Time to go back home, or actually, to the hotel, since I can’t be around kids until the tracer has dissipated (i.e. 12 tomorrow). Here’s for a good night of rest.

2 thoughts on “The bone scan, painless but oppressing

Leave a comment